logo+996 554 999 222

Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture

The Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (SPT) is a new type of treaty body in the UN human rights system. They have a preventive mandate focused on an innovative, sustainable and proactive approach to preventing torture and ill-treatment. The SPT was established in in February 2007.

The SPT acts in accordance with the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture (OPCAT). The OPCAT was adopted in December 2002 by the General Assembly of the United Nations and entered into force in June 2006.

The SPT consists of 25 independent and impartial experts with different experiences and from different regions of the world. The SPT members are selected by the OPCAT Member States for four years and can be re-elected for an additional term.

Report on torture